Reviews from Amazon

Top Customer Reviews of Selling Outside the Square

on December 3, 2012
|Verified Purchase
Selling professionals have long had a plethora of resources that date back as far as Dale Carnegie’s “How to Win Friends and Influence People.” In the realm of Zig Ziglar and Anthony Robbins, Bob Boog brings a usable, user-friendly, and practical guide to create opportunities for sales. Rather than being about attitude and hype, or something to get a salesperson highly motivated to continue banging a head against a wall, Boog offers how-to techniques that will get a dedicated professional excited from the results. Some of the techniques will be familiar to a well-trained sales professional, but the combination and the context within which Boog puts it all together is very unique. Most of his techniques are very simple, relying on psychological triggers that anyone can easily learn. If you rely on selling for your livelihood, you need to buy this book because the world is rapidly changing in you need to keep up. Bob Boog will help you stay on the cutting edge.
Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Review of Selling Outside the Square by Bob Boog

on December 9, 2012
I just read this book and have taken some of the steps that Bob outlines and put them to work. What I have found is that his strategies, while simple and easy to follow, actually do work. He talks alot about Generation Me and what we need to do to sell to this generation and he’s spot on. I specifically liked the question statements and have found those very useful not only in my side business but also in my day job. This book is easy to read and his strategies are easy to follow. No matter what product you are selling, I would recommend this book for anyone involved in sales or marketing.
Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Review #3 of Selling Outside the Square

on June 19, 2013
 

‘Selling Outside the Square’ will make you look at selling in a whole new way, even if you never sold anything in your life. Bob Boog adds his own personal touch and experiences in this informative book that will teach you how to connect with different generations of people, and how they think when it comes to purchasing things.

Also in this book are the selling lines that will work best with different types of customers, and how to use technology (or less of it) to make your sale. This is a must-have book for anyone in the business of sales or looking to get into it, and interesting even for those who aren’t, as it will change your perspective of the consumer’s mind.

Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?

Review #4 of Selling Outside the Square by Robert Boog

on March 18, 2013

Selling Outside the Square is a very engaging read by an experienced realtor who reminds the reader occasionally he’s only a realtor, not the ultimate guru of sales. Honesty is in fact a trait Robert Boog suggests folks use in closing the deal. That’s why the book has refreshing credibility – no promises and guarantees of smashing success – just friendly advice from a success who has made the big sales.

This is not exclusive to real estate. The advice is broad enough for selling any product and for almost any marketing campaign. Advice includes using stories to connect with a potential buyer, raising curiosity about the product and giving the buyer a reason why to buy a product — which are not as simple as they might sound. That’s why the author explains thoroughly how to accomplish these.

In explaining the key target demographic for marketing, the book transcends a sales or business book and delves into social commentary – primarily “Gen Me,” the term for anyone born after 1969 – which includes Gen X’ers and Gen Y’ers. This younger demographic is entirely about feeling good about themselves and individualism.

I’m admittedly somewhat conflicted on this description – being a member of this demographic. I’m also generally skeptical about any notion of the good old days or a more selfless generation. That said, the author doesn’t seem to make judgments and never referenced the “good old days.” He’s simply advising on how to target the modern market and he certainly knows more about that than I – so perhaps I’m a tad sensitive about my generation.

You don’t have to agree with every observation to find the book insightful. He applies this Gen Me analysis to politics, religion and the general culture. He points out that the most popular religious figures such as Rick Warren preach a message of believing in yourself because of God’s unconditional love, rather than a strict set of rules like past generations of religious figures might have.

On politics, he accurately predicted that President Obama appealed to Gen Me voters in 2012 way more than Mitt Romney, in a desire to vote their passion over their pocket book. I’m less than convinced about his prediction that Jeb Bush will be victorious in 2016 for meeting the “12 triggers” that are a key cornerstone to the book to reach the Gen Me demo. As I said before, I could be wrong and I think there are clearly things an expert in sales could teach us about politics.

To be clear, it’s NOT a political or culture book, but as a political junkie, I enjoyed that minimal aspect. That’s one reason why I think this book will leave an impression, because it’s a lively book, and not a one dimensional sales course. Regardless of the field of sales or marketing your seeking success in, the book is likely to be relevant.

Review #5 of Selling Outside the Square by Bob Boog

 

on December 6, 2012
Format: 
Bob Boog has decades of sales experience and is extremely well known in our community. His books are filled with just the right mix of solid useful tips and humor. I love this book as his years of experience are boiled down into this power packed publication.
Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Review #6 of Selling Outside the Square

on February 7, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This book is well-organized and full of fun anecdotes. Although Bob’s expertise is selling real estate (he sold us our condo 14 years ago), the principals he illustrates apply to many kinds of transactions and are good business skills.
Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Review #7 of Selling Outside the Square

on November 30, 2012
Format: Kindle Edition
This book takes a different approach to selling. These are some wonderful strategies that the author provides, that you can easily apply. They are very easy to understand, and it is an easy read to follow. I very much enjoyed this book and it has a lot to offer the reader. If you are looking to make more sales I highly recommend that you add it to your personal library.
Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Review #8 of Selling Outside the Square

on January 17, 2013
Format: Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Excellent work! Well worth reading. Seems a lot of research went into the material. I would definitely recommend it to anyone who deals with the public.